… Weird Technical Support …

He was very determined, repeating each step that I should follow, every few seconds, when I was not willing to confirm his advices.

At the left bottom corner of your keyboard is a key c-t-r-l, do you see it?

<no answer from me>

At the left bottom corner of your keyboard is a key c-t-r-l, do you see it?

<still no answer from me>

At the left bottom corner of your keyboard is a key c-t-r-l, do you see it?

< yeah, I found it and so ?>

Next to it, at right is a key with a small Microsoft logo, with four like squares. Did you got it?

<OK, so …?>

Keep it pushed with one finger and with one other finger push the key r and tell me what you see.

<no answer from me>

Keep it pushed with one finger and with other finger push the key r and tell me what you see.

<Hmm,  the Run command window>

All right! (almost I see his ear-to-ear  satisfied smile) Now would you to write e-v-e-n-t-v-w-r (carefully spells to me), press enter and tell me what you see.

<OK, that is the Event Viewer, I confirm to him>

At this moment I did remember that I passed, two years ago, through a similar  “technical advice”, almost at the point to fall in the trap.

[It is not over … yet]

Leave a Reply

