One simple question … | It Was Another Day

Source: One simple question … | It Was Another Day

When I gathered up enough despair for finding a smart idea to write about, I just stumbled upon some surprising subject that put me into an unexpected direction.

When I am able to take the time to reflect upon this kind of unexpectedness I realize that this is the rule and not the exception.

One of a few surprises of these days was the answer for this simple question:

What should every person be knowledgeable about or be proficient in by the age of 20?

Let me analyse, first, this question. It sounds mature, with a concern that casts the shadow of time running out for somebody too close to that milestone. There is a contrast between the preciseness of the question and the fuzziness that should stay behind that question. It looks like a parent who is looking for an objective answer, maybe a cool one. Or behind the question is somebody who knows – generally speaking – the colour of the answer and is waiting for the occasion to say “I told you…”

Now, when I write these lines, I suddenly have the revelation that the person behind the question might be me. I was looking for a neat pattern for what should be, do and have a person at 20. It is a metaphysic knowledge. I am long done for that milestone and the answer that I found puts me in a discomfortable position of being wrong at fifty, forget the twenty.

Now, one of the answers I prefer (taken from Quora):

  1. How to cook 10 good meals
  2. How to dress like an adult and not a teenager
  3. How to get enough sleep on a daily basis
  4. How to manage your tasks, projects, and calendars so that you never miss a date or forget anything important.
  5. How to read 100 pages in a day with the same comprehension you would experience if they were spoken to you.
  6. How to relate to the opposite sex without objectifying them or being afraid of them.
  7. How to break arbitrary addictions: soda, Facebook, TV, video games, tobacco
  8. How to pay bills on time and not spend more than you can afford
  9. How to be comfortable in your own skin, without the constant need of affirmation, showing off, sounding smart, whatever.

I told you …

Leave a Reply

